Abernethy Laurels Announces New Advisory Council Members

August 24, 2016

Abernethy Laurels, a continuing care retirement community in Newton, announced the appointment of two new members to their Advisory Council.

Abernethy Laurels leadership team and current Advisory Council members are pleased to welcome new members City of Newton Mayor Anne P. Stedman and NC House Representative Mitchell S. Setzer.

Stedman is owner and operator of The Trott House Inn Bed and Breakfast in Downtown Newton. After graduating from Newton-Conover High School, she obtained her Bachelor of Science Degree in Art Education from Kennesaw State University in Georgia. Stedman was appointed to Newton Council in 2003 and was elected Mayor in 2011.  

Setzer is a Republican member of the North Carolina General Assembly representing the state’s 89th House district, which includes constituents in Catawba County. A native of Catawba, North Carolina, Setzer is a sales professional and executive vice president of his family’s company, Smith Setzer and Sons, Inc. Currently, he is serving his sixth term in the North Carolina State House.

These two members join a 10 member council under the chairmanship of business professional Heather Paul of Newton, NC.